Page 1 of 2

Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 24 Jan 2018, 18:18
by DoomJedi
Installed Wolf4SDL on my retropie
Image

Next to try - Splitwolf *Joystick*

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 24 Jan 2018, 23:08
by linuxwolf
It would be cool if SplitWolf worked with two separate controllers.

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 25 Jan 2018, 00:25
by DoomJedi
Yes, would be cool, and not totally impossible.
Still, so far trying to solve the challenge of exiting Wolf4SDL, none of the buttons seems to bring me back to the menu :)

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 25 Jan 2018, 14:03
by DoomJedi
Please help :)

Can someone recompile Wolf4SDL exe (and put on dropbox) with those controller settings in wl_play.cpp?
http://dosonthepi.blogspot.co.il/2015/01/configure-game-controllers-for-wolf4sdl.html

I want to make Wolf4SDL fully playable on retropie...

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 25 Jan 2018, 14:33
by Atina
Nice controller ><
It's been ages since i messed around with controller setups but wouldn't it be faster and easier to remap the buttons over the retropie itself? It should be possible i think. Not sure if you can play advanced mods too smooth. Last time i tried Witching Hour on a raspberry B it had some slow-downs but retropie might be also faster =p

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 25 Jan 2018, 15:09
by DoomJedi
Atina wrote:Nice controller ><

Thanks, ordered today 2 wireless as well, and it's complicated to connect that HDMI cable across the room.
*Joystick*

It's been ages since i messed around with controller setups but wouldn't it be faster and easier to remap the buttons over the retropie itself?

Well, Wolf4SDL has its own setup which overwrites retropie's keys mapping (Wolf4SDL is port and not another emulator). Currently - the way that I have no active "esc" button, this is what I want to change.

Not sure if you can play advanced mods too smooth
Will have to see :) At least Wolf4SDL was running perfectly well, so were Hexen/Doom/Duke Nukem etc on ps1 emulator (only some big other games were slow and only before I copied in ps1 bios files - important).

Last time i tried Witching Hour on a raspberry B it had some slow-downs but retropie might be also faster =p
Yes, retropie is fast :) Raspberri 3 at least.

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2018, 19:19
by lazd
I got you! I've implemented the following:

  • Moved to SDL2
  • Uses GameController API instead of Joystick
  • Embeds GameController_DB for immediate support of dozens of game controllers
  • Supports RetroPie's screwed up xmod patch that forces triggers_to_buttons, as well as without it (for XBox controllers)
  • Allows remapping all buttons on the gamepad with in-game UI
  • Allows adjusting turn speed with in-game UI

My fork assumes two axes with the following mapping:

  • Left stick X axis: Strafe
  • Left stick Y axis: Move forward/back
  • Right stick X axis: Turn
  • Left stick button: Run
  • Right stick button: Run
  • Left bumper: Previous weapon
  • Right bumper: Next weapon
  • Left trigger: Use
  • Right trigger: Fire
  • Select: Pause
  • Start: Escape

You can remap all of the buttons and actions listed above, but the axes are hardcoded. Unfortunately, with your gamepad only having a single axis, you won't be able to turn (doh!). Maybe the wireless gamepads you bought have multiple axes?

The code is here: http://github.com/lazd/wolf4sdl/tree/sdl2remap

To install it, drop to a terminal on your RetroPie and do the following:

Code: Select all
sudo su
cd RetroPie-Setup/
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl depends
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl sources
cd ~/RetroPie-Setup/tmp/build/wolf4sdl/
git remote add lazd "https://github.com/lazd/wolf4sdl.git"
git fetch lazd
git checkout sdl2remap
git submodule init
git submodule update
cd RetroPie-Setup/
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl get_opts
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl get_bins
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl build
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl install
./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl configure
rm ~/.wolf4sdl/config.wl*


You'll have a fresh build of wolf4sdl installed that you can launch from the EmulationStation, and your game controller should work just fine out of the box, as long as it's mentioned here https://github.com/gabomdq/SDL_GameCont ... llerdb.txt

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2018, 19:28
by lazd
linuxwolf wrote:It would be cool if SplitWolf worked with two separate controllers.


Where's the code at? It would probably be relatively simple to get my GameController changes in and add support for separate controllers, the move to SDL2 would probably be the biggest hurdle.

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2018, 23:16
by linuxwolf
The public release of SplitWolf has been around for a while:

https://bitbucket.org/linuxwolf6/split_wolf4sdl_pr/

I have added you to that repository.

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 19 Oct 2018, 00:08
by lazd
linuxwolf wrote:The public release of SplitWolf has been around for a while:

https://bitbucket.org/linuxwolf6/split_wolf4sdl_pr/

I have added you to that repository.


Awesome, thanks! I'll dig into it :)

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 19 Oct 2018, 17:37
by DoomJedi
Would be so cool to play SplitWolf with 2 players on the same screen on retropie, this can give SplitWolf a whole new life. >0<

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 19 Oct 2018, 17:44
by DoomJedi
I've uninstalled Wolf4SDL from retropie since, mostly because it didn't look well with my other menu layout, but I can install it again and try with your files. Sure if we can get SplitWolf working, that would be fantastic, 2 player coop like that. I'll definitely announce it on retropie groups then.

Unfortunately, with your gamepad only having a single axis, you won't be able to turn (doh!). Maybe the wireless gamepads you bought have multiple axes?
SNES-like I like and use the most, but I have other analog joysticks (that I like less), wireless ps-type ones and arcade ones. I ordered wired ones too, but they got lost on the way, didn't reorder those.

From my calculation - it's totally possible to make full Wolf3D actions with just dpad-type joystick, especially as I myself don't use strafing at all.

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 19 Oct 2018, 18:59
by lazd
DoomJedi wrote:From my calculation - it's totally possible to make full Wolf3D actions with just dpad-type joystick, especially as I myself don't use strafing at all.


You're right, I'm on it! Without adding the ability to remap axes, I can just check for the number of axes and assign turning to the X axis instead of strafing if there is only one.

I just pushed a fresh commit that will let you control it Gravis Gamepad style if your controller has less than 4 axes. Bonus: you can remap your strafe button to next weapon so you can actually switch weapons with your gamepad (not possible before my changes!)

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 19 Oct 2018, 22:55
by DoomJedi
That is most cool! 8)

I need to reinstall Wolf4SDL I guess *Joystick*

Re: Wolf4SDL on retropie

PostPosted: 20 Oct 2018, 10:24
by linuxwolf
You're about to make wolf3d history if you manage to pull this off.