• View unanswered postsView active topics

  • Wolf4SDL on retropie

    Discuss Wolf3D and Wolf3D modding/ports

    Postby DoomJedi 24 Jan 2018, 18:18

    Installed Wolf4SDL on my retropie
    Image

    Next to try - Splitwolf *Joystick*
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    The following user would like to thank DoomJedi for this post
    linuxwolf

    Postby linuxwolf 24 Jan 2018, 23:08

    It would be cool if SplitWolf worked with two separate controllers.
    linuxwolf
    User avatar
    Team RayCast member
    Team RayCast member
     
    Posts: 5675
    Location: Australia

        

    Postby DoomJedi 25 Jan 2018, 00:25

    Yes, would be cool, and not totally impossible.
    Still, so far trying to solve the challenge of exiting Wolf4SDL, none of the buttons seems to bring me back to the menu :)
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby DoomJedi 25 Jan 2018, 14:03

    Please help :)

    Can someone recompile Wolf4SDL exe (and put on dropbox) with those controller settings in wl_play.cpp?
    http://dosonthepi.blogspot.co.il/2015/01/configure-game-controllers-for-wolf4sdl.html

    I want to make Wolf4SDL fully playable on retropie...
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby Atina 25 Jan 2018, 14:33

    Nice controller ><
    It's been ages since i messed around with controller setups but wouldn't it be faster and easier to remap the buttons over the retropie itself? It should be possible i think. Not sure if you can play advanced mods too smooth. Last time i tried Witching Hour on a raspberry B it had some slow-downs but retropie might be also faster =p
    Atina

     
    Posts: 206

       

    Postby DoomJedi 25 Jan 2018, 15:09

    Atina wrote:Nice controller ><

    Thanks, ordered today 2 wireless as well, and it's complicated to connect that HDMI cable across the room.
    *Joystick*

    It's been ages since i messed around with controller setups but wouldn't it be faster and easier to remap the buttons over the retropie itself?

    Well, Wolf4SDL has its own setup which overwrites retropie's keys mapping (Wolf4SDL is port and not another emulator). Currently - the way that I have no active "esc" button, this is what I want to change.

    Not sure if you can play advanced mods too smooth
    Will have to see :) At least Wolf4SDL was running perfectly well, so were Hexen/Doom/Duke Nukem etc on ps1 emulator (only some big other games were slow and only before I copied in ps1 bios files - important).

    Last time i tried Witching Hour on a raspberry B it had some slow-downs but retropie might be also faster =p
    Yes, retropie is fast :) Raspberri 3 at least.
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby lazd 18 Oct 2018, 19:19

    I got you! I've implemented the following:

    • Moved to SDL2
    • Uses GameController API instead of Joystick
    • Embeds GameController_DB for immediate support of dozens of game controllers
    • Supports RetroPie's screwed up xmod patch that forces triggers_to_buttons, as well as without it (for XBox controllers)
    • Allows remapping all buttons on the gamepad with in-game UI
    • Allows adjusting turn speed with in-game UI

    My fork assumes two axes with the following mapping:

    • Left stick X axis: Strafe
    • Left stick Y axis: Move forward/back
    • Right stick X axis: Turn
    • Left stick button: Run
    • Right stick button: Run
    • Left bumper: Previous weapon
    • Right bumper: Next weapon
    • Left trigger: Use
    • Right trigger: Fire
    • Select: Pause
    • Start: Escape

    You can remap all of the buttons and actions listed above, but the axes are hardcoded. Unfortunately, with your gamepad only having a single axis, you won't be able to turn (doh!). Maybe the wireless gamepads you bought have multiple axes?

    The code is here: http://github.com/lazd/wolf4sdl/tree/sdl2remap

    To install it, drop to a terminal on your RetroPie and do the following:

    Code: Select all
    sudo su
    cd RetroPie-Setup/
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl depends
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl sources
    cd ~/RetroPie-Setup/tmp/build/wolf4sdl/
    git remote add lazd "https://github.com/lazd/wolf4sdl.git"
    git fetch lazd
    git checkout sdl2remap
    git submodule init
    git submodule update
    cd RetroPie-Setup/
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl get_opts
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl get_bins
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl build
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl install
    ./retropie_packages.sh wolf4sdl configure
    rm ~/.wolf4sdl/config.wl*


    You'll have a fresh build of wolf4sdl installed that you can launch from the EmulationStation, and your game controller should work just fine out of the box, as long as it's mentioned here https://github.com/gabomdq/SDL_GameCont ... llerdb.txt
    lazd

     
    Posts: 23

       

    The following user would like to thank lazd for this post
    DoomJedi

    Postby lazd 18 Oct 2018, 19:28

    linuxwolf wrote:It would be cool if SplitWolf worked with two separate controllers.


    Where's the code at? It would probably be relatively simple to get my GameController changes in and add support for separate controllers, the move to SDL2 would probably be the biggest hurdle.
    lazd

     
    Posts: 23

       

    Postby linuxwolf 18 Oct 2018, 23:16

    The public release of SplitWolf has been around for a while:

    https://bitbucket.org/linuxwolf6/split_wolf4sdl_pr/

    I have added you to that repository.
    linuxwolf
    User avatar
    Team RayCast member
    Team RayCast member
     
    Posts: 5675
    Location: Australia

        

    Postby lazd 19 Oct 2018, 00:08

    linuxwolf wrote:The public release of SplitWolf has been around for a while:

    https://bitbucket.org/linuxwolf6/split_wolf4sdl_pr/

    I have added you to that repository.


    Awesome, thanks! I'll dig into it :)
    lazd

     
    Posts: 23

       

    Postby DoomJedi 19 Oct 2018, 17:37

    Would be so cool to play SplitWolf with 2 players on the same screen on retropie, this can give SplitWolf a whole new life. >0<
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby DoomJedi 19 Oct 2018, 17:44

    I've uninstalled Wolf4SDL from retropie since, mostly because it didn't look well with my other menu layout, but I can install it again and try with your files. Sure if we can get SplitWolf working, that would be fantastic, 2 player coop like that. I'll definitely announce it on retropie groups then.

    Unfortunately, with your gamepad only having a single axis, you won't be able to turn (doh!). Maybe the wireless gamepads you bought have multiple axes?
    SNES-like I like and use the most, but I have other analog joysticks (that I like less), wireless ps-type ones and arcade ones. I ordered wired ones too, but they got lost on the way, didn't reorder those.

    From my calculation - it's totally possible to make full Wolf3D actions with just dpad-type joystick, especially as I myself don't use strafing at all.
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby lazd 19 Oct 2018, 18:59

    DoomJedi wrote:From my calculation - it's totally possible to make full Wolf3D actions with just dpad-type joystick, especially as I myself don't use strafing at all.


    You're right, I'm on it! Without adding the ability to remap axes, I can just check for the number of axes and assign turning to the X axis instead of strafing if there is only one.

    I just pushed a fresh commit that will let you control it Gravis Gamepad style if your controller has less than 4 axes. Bonus: you can remap your strafe button to next weapon so you can actually switch weapons with your gamepad (not possible before my changes!)
    lazd

     
    Posts: 23

       

    Postby DoomJedi 19 Oct 2018, 22:55

    That is most cool! 8)

    I need to reinstall Wolf4SDL I guess *Joystick*
    DoomJedi
    User avatar
    Administrator
    Administrator
     
    Posts: 14051
    Location: Israel

        

    Postby linuxwolf 20 Oct 2018, 10:24

    You're about to make wolf3d history if you manage to pull this off.
    linuxwolf
    User avatar
    Team RayCast member
    Team RayCast member
     
    Posts: 5675
    Location: Australia

        

    Next

    Return to General Wolf3D/modding Discussion and tutorials


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

    cron