• View unanswered postsView active topics

  • Wolf3d SDL coding tutorials (?)

    Discuss Wolf3D and Wolf3D modding/ports

    Postby WolferCooker 17 Nov 2011, 02:33

    Okay I wanna put what I learned with C++ so far in class to the test here with Wolf3d. I wanna see for myself if I can first set up the EXE.

    I would like to know how different the tutorials are between DOS and SDL, and I want to try the SDL version.

    Can you guys please help me out on what exactly to do here? I understand some things on C++ a little better now.
    WolferCooker
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 164
    Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

        

    Postby Tricob1974 17 Nov 2011, 06:11

    Different parts of the code work different ways. But I'd say the graphics part of the code works the most differently of all. I still haven't figured out all the differences to be honest, and my not knowing much about the raycaster doesn't help me much. :(
    Tricob1974

     
    Posts: 1382
    Location: Huntsville, Alabama

        

    Postby WolferCooker 17 Nov 2011, 06:20

    Sorry to hear that Tricob. I just wish Borland wasn't so confusing to use. I don't think I would have as much trouble if Microsoft Visual Studio was also another program to set up the Wolf3d EXE and make coding changes other than just compiling them.
    WolferCooker
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 164
    Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

        

    Postby Tricob1974 17 Nov 2011, 10:03

    WolferCooker wrote:I just wish Borland wasn't so confusing to use.
    I never had much trouble working with the Borland compiler, but I suppose taking things step-by-step just comes naturally for me. I started programming at an early age, and in this case, it helps me out a lot. :)

    On the flip side, I've always been terrible with the mouse. I do understand the reasons for its appeal, but I don't really agree with those reasons. My coordination with the mouse has always been below-average, and it's always kept me from enjoying GUIs more. I avoid using the mouse whenever possible. :(
    Tricob1974

     
    Posts: 1382
    Location: Huntsville, Alabama

        

    Postby Ron 17 Nov 2011, 16:37

    http://wolf3d.darkbb.com/t1521-compilin ... with-dev-c

    This is to set up the Wolf4SDL engine. Works for me. :) Apart from that, try some tutorials and try to understand what they do.
    Ron
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 6028

        

    Postby WolferCooker 18 Nov 2011, 03:14

    EDIT: I have successfully compiled Wolf4sdl.exe with WLHack's instructions. However, SDL.dll is missing, which I already know and will be easy to find from other mods, but WHERE should I put the SDL.dll file at?
    WolferCooker
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 164
    Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

        

    Postby Ron 18 Nov 2011, 03:55

    In the map where you have all your game files (like VSWAP.WL6 etc.).
    Ron
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 6028

        

    Postby WolferCooker 18 Nov 2011, 04:08

    Ah okay, so I gotta save the Wolf4sdl.exe first before doing that right?

    EDIT: Okay, apparently you don't need to compile and run. Just compile to get the EXE. Now here's the next problem, where do I get all the .WL6 files (AUDIOHED, AUDIOT, etc.) in order to help make this all run?
    WolferCooker
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 164
    Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

        

    Postby Ron 18 Nov 2011, 05:23

    If you have the complete version of Wolfenstein 3D you should have all those files.
    Ron
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 6028

        

    Postby WolferCooker 18 Nov 2011, 05:31

    ok then

    EDIT: Okay it works! I guess that's a milestone for a rookie!
    WolferCooker
    User avatar

     
    Posts: 164
    Location: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

        

    Next

    Return to General Wolf3D/modding Discussion and tutorials


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest